

Regional Council of Mayors

LEADING INTO THE FUTURE

The nationally recognized Regional Council of Mayors (RCM) is a nonpartisan coalition building civic trust through connected relationships, inquiry, positive intentions, and collective action focused on issues of regional significance.

Equip mayors for unifying, complex, adaptive leadership Exchange of ideas and emerging innovation Seek to understand and find the common good Foster access, inclusion, diversity, and equity

MEETINGS

Held the second Monday of each month and hosted by Dorsey & Whitney.* Mayors are encouraged to participate on a consistent basis.

*COVID: Until in-person events are possible we are hosting RCM meeting via Zoom.

Link to RCM Meeting Notes & Presentations

FINANCIAL SUPPORT

There are no dues. The RCM is supported by contributions from Target, Comcast, and Dorsey & Whitney; parking, lunch and staff support are provided. RCM mayors are encouraged to join ULI as individual members or under the public agency package program.

RCM CO-CHAIRS



Mayor James Hovland City of Edina



Mayor Doug Anderson City of Lakeville

GOVERNANCE

The RCM operates without a formal legal structure. It is guided by two co-chairs, an RCM Executive Committee, (current and former chairs and the ULI Minnesota RCM Program Director and ULI Minnesota Executive Director), set agendas and recommend leadership positions.

ACTIONS

The RCM, as an informal organization, will not take actions that obligate or act on behalf of participating mayors or their city. From time to time, Mayors and/or their cities will lend their support on matters of regional significance, which have been vetted by the RCM, through resolutions, testimony or letters.

The RCM offers an immediate opportunity to meet and establish relationships with regional mayors. While each RCM city is unique, the collective sharing of resources, ideas, and experiences helps everyone. Mayors and cities are being asked to take on more in this time of new localism. The collaboration, rapport, trust, and support from other mayors, along with content experts provided by ULI Minnesota, is invaluable. We can accomplish so much more when we work together.







2021 REGIONAL COUNCIL OF MAYORS

RCM CO-CHAIRS

Mayor James Hovland, Edina Mayor Doug Anderson, Lakeville

RCM EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, Burnsville, RCM Founder Mayor Mike Maguire, Eagan Mayor Rhonda Pownell, Northfield Mayor Jake Spano, St. Louis Park Mayor Janet Williams, Savage

RCM MEMBERS

Mayor Marylee Abrams, City of Maplewood Mayor Jim Adams, Crystal Mayor Kirt Briggs, Prior Lake Mayor Anne Burt, Woodbury Mayor Tim Busse, Bloomington Mayor Melvin Carter, Saint Paul Mayor Ron Case, Eden Prairie Mayor William Droste, Rosemount Mayor Laurie Elliott, Newport Mayor Mike Elliott, Brooklyn Center Mayor Jo Emerson, White Bear Lake Mayor Jimmy Francis, South Saint Paul Mayor Jacob Frey, Minneapolis Mayor Mary Gaasch, Lauderdale Mayor Jason Gadd, Hopkins Mayor Shep Harris, Golden Valley Mayor Kathi Hemken, New Hope Mayor Clint Hooppaw, Apple Valley Mayor Joshua Hoyt, Farmington Mayor Courtney Johnson, Carver Mayor Marvin Johnson, Independence Mayor Joe Julius, Elko New Market Mayor Jerry Koch, Coon Rapids

Mayor Stephanie Levine, Mendota Heights Mayor Jaci Lindstrom, Minnetonka Beach Mayor Chris Lund, Hamburg Mayor Scott Lund, Fridley Mayor Julie Maas-Kusske, Maple Plain Mayor Amáda Márquez Simula, Columbia Heights Mayor Judson Marshall, Mahtomedi Mayor Sandy Martin, Shoreview Mayor Deb McMillan, Victoria Mayor Charlie Miner, Long Lake Mayor Johanna Mouton, Wayzata Mayor Kim Norton, Rochester Mayor Mike Pearson, Lake Elmo Mayor Duane Poppe, Osseo Mayor Maria Regan Gonzalez, Richfield Mayor Paul Reinke, Oakdale Mayor Dan Roe, Roseville Mayor Elise Ryan, Chanhassen Mayor Mark Steffenson, Maple Grove Mayor Randy Stille, St. Anthony Village Mayor Lisa Whalen, Minnetrista Mayor Brad Wiersum, Minnetonka Mayor Jeff Wosje, Plymouth

ULI MINNESOTA

Stephanie Brown Executive Director Stephanie.Brown@ULI.org 612.548.1452

Rachel Keenan Senior Associate Rachel.Keenan@ULI.org 763.227.3060

81 S. 9th Street Suite 310 Minneapolis, MN 55402 612.338.1332 <u>minnesota.uli.org</u>

Caren Dewar

Regional Council of Mayors Caren.Dewar@ULI.org 612. 759. 1016

Cathy Bennett Advisory Services Cathy.Bennett@uli.org 612. 670. 8147

FROM 8 MAYORS IN 2004 TO 53 MAYORS IN 2021

