ULI Minnesota

Regional Council of Mayors

he nationally recognized Regional Council of Mayors (RCM) was formed in 2004 and is a nonpartisan platform focused on **building civic trust** through relationships, inquiry, partnerships and action. It is a voluntary opportunity for regional mayors to convene around issues of regional significance. 2018 priorities include: *Minnesota Mayors Together*, supporting a full range of housing choices, economic vitality, building resilient communities, and investing in our region's mobility. The RCM is supported by the Urban Land Institute Minnesota (ULI MN).

RCM CO-CHAIRS







Mayor Mike Maguire City of Eagan

MEETINGS

Held the second Monday of each month and hosted by Dorsey & Whitney. Mayors are encouraged to participate on a consistent basis.

Dorsey & Whitney 50 South 6th Street Suite 1500 Minneapolis, MN 55402

GOVERNANCE

The RCM operates without a formal legal structure. It is guided by two co-chairs who serve two year, staggered terms. A RCM Executive Committee, (current and former chairs and the ULI MN Executive Director), set agendas and recommend leadership positions.

FINANCIAL SUPPORT

There are no dues. The RCM is supported by contributions from Target, BlueCross and BlueShield MN and the Family Housing Fund; parking, lunch and staff support are provided. RCM mayors are encouraged to join ULI as individual members or under the public agency package program.

ACTIONS

The RCM, as an informal organization, will not take actions that obligate or act on behalf of participating mayors or their city. From time to time, Mayors and/or their cities will lend their support on matters of regional significance, which have been vetted by the RCM, through resolutions, testimony or letters.

The RCM offers an immediate opportunity to meet and establish relationships with regional mayors. While each RCM city is unique, the collective sharing of resources, ideas, and experiences helps everyone. Mayors and cities are being asked to take on more in this time of new localism. The collaboration, rapport, trust, and support from other mayors, along with content experts provided by ULI Minnesota, is invaluable. We can accomplish so much more when we work together.















2020 REGIONAL COUNCIL OF MAYORS

RCM CO-CHAIRS

Mayor James Hovland, Edina Mayor Mike Maguire, Eagan

RCM EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Mayor Doug Anderson, Lakeville

Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, Burnsville, RCM Founder

Mayor Rhonda Pownell, Northfield Mayor Jake Spano, St. Louis Park

Mayor Janet Williams, Savage

RCM MEMBERS

Mayor Marylee Abrams, City of Maplewood

Mayor Jim Adams, Crystal

Mayor Kirt Briggs, Prior Lake

Mayor Anne Burt, Woodbury

Mayor Tim Busse, Bloomington

Mayor Melvin Carter, Saint Paul

Mayor Ron Case, Eden Prairie

Mayor Sean Dowse, Red Wing

Mayor William Droste, Rosemount

Mayor Mike Elliott, Brooklyn Center

Mayor Jo Emerson, White Bear Lake

Mayor Jimmy Francis, South Saint Paul

Mayor Jacob Frey, Minneapolis

Mayor Mary Gaasch, Lauderdale

Mayor Jason Gadd, Hopkins

Mayor Mary Hamann-Roland, Apple Valley

Mayor Shep Harris, Golden Valley

Mayor Kathi Hemken, New Hope

Mayor Courtney Johnson, Carver

Mayor Marvin Johnson, Independence

Mayor Joe Julius, Elko New Market

Mayor Jerry Koch, Coon Rapids

Mayor Jaci Lindstrom, Minnetonka Beach

Mayor Chris Lund, Hamburg

Mayor Dan Lund, Newport

Mayor Scott Lund, Fridley

Mayor Jeffrey Lunde, Brooklyn Park

Mayor Julie Maas-Kusske, Maple Plain

Mayor Judson Marshall, Mahtomedi

Mayor Sandy Martin, Shoreview

Mayor Tim McNeil, Dayton

Mayor Charlie Miner, Long Lake

Mayor Regan Murphy, Robbinsdale

Mayor Kim Norton, Rochester

Mayor Mike Pearson, Lake Elmo

Mayor Duane Poppe, Osseo

Mayor Maria Regan Gonzalez, Richfield

Mayor Paul Reinke, Oakdale

Mayor Dan Roe, Roseville

Mayor Elise Ryan, Chanhassen

Mayor Tom Ryan, Blaine

Mayor Mark Steffenson, Maple Grove

Mayor Randy Stille, St. Anthony Village

Mayor George Tourville, Inver Grove Heights

Mayor Julie Trude, Andover

Mayor Lisa Whalen, Minnetrista

Mayor Brad Wiersum, Minnetonka

Mayor Ken Willcox, Wayzata

Mayor Jeff Wosje, Plymouth

Mayor Scott Zerby, Shorewood

ULI MINNESOTA

Caren Dewar

Executive Director Caren.Dewar@ULI.org

612.759.1016

Rachel Keenan

Senior Associate

Rachel.Keenan@ULI.org

612.338.1332

81 S. 9th Street Suite 310 Minneapolis, MN 55402 612.338.1332 minnesota.uli.org Cathy Bennett
Advisory Services

Advisory Services
Cathy.Bennett@ULI.org
612.670.8147





TO 58 MAYORS IN 2020

